top of page

The District

The Skyline Soil and Water Conservation District is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  It was established in 1942 under the authority of the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Districts Law of 1938, as amended.   The District serves the counties of Floyd, Giles, Montgomery and Pulaski. 


The District is governed by a ten member Board of Directors, eight elected and two appointed at large from within the district.   Each Director serves a four year term of office. 

The District is part of the New River Watershed, the headwaters of the Roanoke River and a small area drains into the James River.   The majority of the District drains into the New River, which flows through the entire District.

Our primary goal is to encourages the voluntary installation of agricultural Best Management Practices (BMP) to improve water quality and reduce non-point source pollution.   Annually, the District develops a plan of work that outlines direction for the following year.   This includes conservation planning, technical assistance and education.




bottom of page